top of page
profielfoto_edited.jpg

Hello

My name is Ben and born in the southern parts of the Netherlands in 1980 so I'm in my 40's now. I'm married and have two children. I work as an Engineer at a chemical plant.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

My Story

My parents got me at a young age. And because they were young, they weren't settled and we moved a lot. So before I got to the age of five I already switched several schools. Then from the age of 5th to 8th, I stayed at the same elementary school. But the classes were so crowded, I couldn't compete with the other children, so I needed to attain to a special school for children with learning disabilities, ADHD, etc. 
After that special elementary school, I could choose three directions of schooling: Framing, homemade, or construction.
I attended the construction education. My father went to that school and he told me that need to learn a profession so can have a job somewhere. So I used to learn plumbing and welding. Later I attained a specialty school for welding and pipe fitter. After school a found a job as a pipe fitter at a local company. 
I was 19 at the moment and had a job so I tried to leave the nest. Then my father explained to me that I could not attain the same lifestyle if I was going to live on my own. So I stayed home for a longer period. Then, one year later. I met a girl who was a few years older than me who had a bachelor's degree and lived her lifestyle. Not that the lifestyle was that special but like: drove a car, bought a house, went out, bought some clothes., etc... I couldn't do that with my salary. So my thoughts were like, hey if you can do that... so can I. So I started to level up in schooling to eventually graduate with a bachelor's degree. It took me eight years in total but I did it, eventually. 
The last three years of the scholarship were the most difficult. My best friend was diagnosed with a brain tumor when he was 25 years old. At the age of 27, he passed away. That kicked in pretty hard. I used to start drinking lots of alcohol at that time. My grades weren't as good as they used to be. I developed a friend group who also used to drink. When I finally finished my bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering in 2008, there was this big banking crisis so I had a hard time getting a job. Finally, I found a job on the other side of the country. Although the job was lower than my education level, it was good that I left my drunk friend group, sobered up, and got back on track again. My girlfriend at that time (now my wife) studied in Belgium which was close to where I worked so we could see each other regularly. 
After about one year, my girlfriend graduated end moved back to her parent's house. I also went back to my birth town and got the same job as a planner at a local chemical site. I Made a deal with myself that I would do this kind of work for maximal five years. And then level up to something better, which I did. Finally, I was hired for an engineering job at a big international company. During that period I got the chance of getting a post-bachelor degree in Maintenance Management. After four years I quit and worked one year as a project engineer. But that wasn't my thing. After one year I quit end started as an engineer at a chemical company. This brings difficult challenges. This job where I work for five years now needs a lot of management skills. There is still a lot to learn but I love working there. 

Contact

I'm always looking for new and exciting opportunities. Let's connect.

123-456-7890 

bottom of page